Skip to content

Random Painting Reminded me of Laos

September 30, 2011

Summer ended begin of falls it is time to look forward to going back to visit our motherland.

Water color- Nam Khan, Luang Prabang

Simple “Sala” on the bank of the river how nice for lazy afternoon nap.

Water color of Wat Phu Si

Water color of water lily

Water color of wild poppy

Local artist this reminded me of Muang Sing, Laos.

Oil on board: House on the river bank

This painting reminded me of my grandmother villiage some house are build right next to the river bank surrounded with bamboo trees and palm trees to keep the house cool during mid- afternoon sun.

Rice Paddy

Morning alm giving at That Luang

5 Comments
  1. October 12, 2011 10:14 AM

    Are all these paintings your personal collections? I really like the last oil painting on the canvas. It reminds me of my childhood… I grew up around the corner from Thatluang.

  2. October 13, 2011 12:15 AM

    Yes these are some of my art collections. I’ve been collecting lao art for awhile now, I hope one day I can pack them all up returning to Laos.

    • October 13, 2011 10:46 AM

      As of right now… it is a dream for me to retired in Laos.. 6 months in U.S. and other 6 months in Laos.

  3. October 13, 2011 11:46 PM

    That is an ideal world but lao government need to change the law for xpat to go back home and able to own proprty and work so at least we can assist improving in education, economic and social structure up to par with neiboring countries. Lao government need to embrace xpat.

    • October 14, 2011 11:48 AM

      As of right now…. Not much of a chance that things will changes… Those guys are in the office are old timers and very stubborn folks….Their feelings toward the xpat is mostly negatives and runs deep in their vain. Until the younger generation start to take over the office, I won’t expect any changes.

Comments are closed.

