Skip to content

Vietnamese Sandwich Lao Style

July 10, 2011

I was dying for Vietnamese Sandwich called “bánh mì” and have no desire to drive 45 minutes to the store I figure I can come up with something close to the original.

Salad: shredded papaya and carrot

Since I don’t like daikon I used green papaya instead.  In lao I think they used papaya as well.

Hot water, sugar and vinegar to marinated shredded salad

Toppings: Slice Kirby cucumber, Cilantro, Red onions, Red pepper

Liver Pate, slice really thin pork roll, and BBQ pork

I used three different kind of baguette: Wheat, regular and ciabatta

Breads are toast with unsalted butter spread with japanese mayonnaise, liver pate and assemble the rest of ingredients..

The wheat sandwich is much heavier than regular bread.

Sandwich

I was too hungry I forgot to take the picture on the plate oh well. It was a lot of work but it was worth it. I was able to shared with my co-workers.

5 Comments
  1. July 12, 2011 10:03 AM

    Wow!!! you have to drive 45 mins to get some vietnamese sandwich? I guess you must live up in the hills:-). By the way, your sandwich looks awesome.

    • July 13, 2011 10:22 PM

      Yes up in the hill alright. I travel freqently to the city for entertainment and dinning. There are Asain store near where I lived but it doesn’t have many selection especically Lao or Thai ingredients.

      The shredded papapya really reminded me of Laos. Every time I flew back to Vientaine I always stop at the shop near Lao Plaza to get couple of sandwiches before I head to my home and for 7,000 kip per sandwich is not too bad at all.

  2. July 13, 2011 1:53 AM

    This is one of my favorites also. I bought 6 at the temple on Saturday morning, went off to take pictures of the water lily and by the time I got back it was all gone. I didn’t get to eat any. I should have gone back and bought some more.

    Your photos came out real nice, what kind of camera do you have?

    • July 13, 2011 10:58 PM

      I know when I got there they were all sold out of course I was late. Any how there were so many delicious foods so many to pick from first time I had bai thery khow lam was really good.
      I have Canon iT2 waiting for my IS macro lens any day now from amazon:)

    • July 15, 2011 1:44 AM

      We normally get to Wat by 9am on Saturday and Sunday for Almes giving and the last 2 years the crowd was real thin early in the morning. I think it’s not as festive like the past years.

      I have the Canon T2i also, you will love the macro lens in comparison to the kit lens that came with the camera.

Comments are closed.

