Skip to content

San Diego, California

June 16, 2011
 
Glass district, San Diego

Perfect weather no humidity just right.  San Diego blue sky white fluffy cloud this type of weather reminded me of Xieng Kaung.  Another business trip, great city to be in. I just published a paper and presenting it this year national conference.  I won’t have that much free time but I will make the best of what I have.  

San Diego skyscraper from my hotel window

Gorgeous day too bad I have to be stuck in the conference room all day boo hoo…

Fish Taco

My first fish taco, the fish was well seasoned and perfectly grilled. The coleslaw has a zest of lime juice and oregano not the typical East Coast slaw loaded with heavy mayonnaise.  The slaw, salsa and the fish great combination after the meal.

 After my lunch I walked to the park and just enjoy the cool sunny day.  Some of the boats on the dock are gorgeous some have helicopter wow I’m sure that’s pretty pricy. 

At the marina over look the San Diego bay.

 

Navy Ship

I didn’t have that much time one hour lunch break almost over I have to head back to the convention center.  I would love to see inside that is  gigantic ship I think is bigger than T rec haha…….lol

A Giant life-size model of Life Magazine photo taken after the announcement of WWII was over

 
How appropriate a navy guy kissed a nurse. While I was trying to take this picture, there were couple boys looked under her skirt so typical.
 

"Typical tourist" do what a tourist do ride a tricycle

 This reminded of “Sam law” back home.

Sculpture along the park

 There were so many interesting sculptures set along the walking path there was never a dull moment I have walked way too far than I thought and time is not on my side I don’t want to be late for my own presentation. 

Interesting tree I’ll say

I’m not sure if this is the nature of how the tree grow or with the wind constantly blowing they all bended in some odd way  I was just amazed of how the trunk of the trees are so white.

From the convention center balcony

I made it back on time for the afternoon conference I snapped the last picture of the day.

Dork Huck

I have rarely see this flower I remembered as a child I would pick this flower and strings them together to make lei.

Water lily

My favorite flower every time I see water-lily, Claude Monet comes to mind.

 
 
 
 The meeting ended with fabulous dinner with my colleges I looked forward to next year meeting in San Francisco. 
 
 
 
6 Comments
  1. June 16, 2011 8:19 PM

    Glad you had a great time in my hometown!

  2. June 17, 2011 12:21 AM

    I miss SD… and miss the people from there also -(

    I used to go down there so often… I love it there but cost of living is so high..

  3. June 17, 2011 10:29 AM

    I hear you! I try to pretend that it balances itself out with all the “free” outdoor activities that someone can do. lol

    • June 21, 2011 12:04 AM

      Definitely the out door activities is the plus loves the foods there are so many varies to choose from.

  4. June 18, 2011 12:18 PM

    I would love to visit this part of the country, perhaps someday we will fly there and take a road trip along the coast. The water lilies image looks very warm, is that taken late evening, it looks like golden hour.

    • June 20, 2011 11:18 PM

      Yes is was late in the evening. I was walking around the park which was next to SD zoo waiting for friends for dinner.

Comments are closed.

