Skip to content

Lao Cucumber Salad with Shrimp “Yum Maak Tang Gub Koon”

June 14, 2011
Summer is here fresh fruits and vegetables are in abundance. Every Tuesday my work place  permits local farmers bring fresh grown produces and homemade goods to sell. This was my first time I has a chance to be away from my office.  I bought couple fresh produces including fresh Kirby cucumbers and  I thought maybe I’ll make “Som Tum Maak Tang”  Spicy Cucumber salad.  But I just had “som tum maak houng” Spicy papaya salad for lunch this weekends.   So I decided to make this very simple dish I call “Cucumber Salad with shrimps “Yum Maak Tang Gub Koon”  
Sliced Cucumber, cilantro, Lime, Thai chilli peppers, Sliced white onion, and Mint
 

Slice Kirby Cucumber with sea salt:

 
Mixed sliced cucumber and salt in a strainer for fifteen minutes this helps to removed most of the water from the cucumber. 
 
Lime Juice, Sugar, Fish Sauce and Roasted Peanuts

Lime juice, sugar, and roasted peanuts

Ground roasted peanuts with lao mortar and pastel

Peel Cooked Shrimps

“Yum Maak Tang Gub Koon”

You can serve shrimp on the side or mixed all together

 
“Yum Maak Tang Gub Koon” with all the ingredients mixed all together

I like all the ingredients mixed together  this way the shrimp are marinated with liquid much more flavorful. 

4 Comments
  1. June 16, 2011 1:50 AM

    That looks real good, I have to give this a try since I have so many cucumbers now.

    • June 16, 2011 7:34 PM

      There were few ingredients missing from the previuos posted. I edited oopsy. It’s very light you can subsititute shrimp with almost anything or just make it plain.

  2. June 16, 2011 10:40 AM

    Looks good… Can I order a dish from you? 🙂

    • June 16, 2011 7:38 PM

      Right if you could make lao stew which requires more ingredients than this you can make this. Some of the stuffs you cooked I won’t even try IS too hard, too complicated and too long.

Comments are closed.

