Skip to content

First Lao Resturant in DC Area- WOW !

June 13, 2011
My sister was down in Bethesda, Maryland for her work for two weeks.  She and I got together and decided to have some lao food that I recently discovered from googling. This place is actually a Thai restaurant but serves lao food with separated lao menu.  They also have buffet which doesn’t looked that bad. 

Fried calamari "Tau paa mirk" "

Lao Spicy Sausage "SAI OUA"

Som tum maak houng

 

Bamboo shoot salad "Soub Nor Mai"

 

Lao beef salad "Larb Sien"

 

My plated sticky rice, larb and soub nor mai

 
The service was really quick we got out appetizer within 15 minutes after we ordered.  The place was very quite when we were their. There were only couple tables most of them had the buffet, we ordered from the lao vs.thai menu.  They also have “Beer Lao”  I ordered dark beer lao but they ran out so I got diet coke but got caffeine free diet coke.  I didn’t have the heart to tell the waitress there is difference between “caffeine free ” vs “caffeine”. 
7 Comments
  1. June 15, 2011 10:32 AM

    Are you talking about Bangkok Golden in Falls Church? The little tiny restaurant at the end of strip mall? All those dishes looks good and it is making me hungry for lao foods.

  2. June 15, 2011 6:01 PM

    Yes you are right.
    Gee even people in CA know about it, where have I been. I have lived in this area for ten years. Pretty pathetic Huh :o(

    • June 16, 2011 10:36 AM

      hahahhahah I was there last year :-)… If you know which traditional lao dishes you wants to eat, order it ahead of time. Chef Seng will make it happen and tell her I send you:-).

      This restaurant used to owned by Thai people and I think Chef Seng took over about 1 1/2 or so ago.

  3. June 16, 2011 1:57 AM

    The foods look delicious, especially Soub Nor Mai, not exactly the kind that my mom used to make but it looks simple enough that I could fix for myself. Going from Beer Lao to a diet Coke was a big switch. 🙂

    • June 16, 2011 10:37 AM

      I love beerlao :-)… especially dark beerlao..

  4. June 16, 2011 7:44 PM

    I never had it when I was in Laos all I saw was the regular kind. Is it bitter?

    • June 21, 2011 10:11 AM

      Not that much bitter, but just different flavor. Next time you dine at Bangkok Golden, order yourself a bottle of dark beerlao and it is on me. Tell the owner “Chef Seng” that I’ll be picking up your beer tap and she should be fine with that.

Comments are closed.

