Skip to content

New Olreans

June 12, 2011

Beignet at Café Du Monde

People keeps telling me if you did not have a beignet you did not visit New Orleans. So what did I do?, the first thing in the morning I walk over to the french market and settle for high carbohydrate breakfast.

Beignet and cafe au latte

 
 I order a cup of cafe au latte and one order of  beignet come in three puff pastry loaded with powder suger.  It was yummy but not so good for my blood sugar it shot up above 140.  

Waitress at Cafe Du Monde

 
  I noticed all the waitress are all Vietnamese.  I won’t be suprise if Cafe Du Monde  open in Veitnam.  All the ladies were very friendly.
 

Raw Oyster

 
I loved both raw and cooked so I ordered 1 each.

Grilled Oyster

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Steam boat on the Mississippi river

The river reminded me of the Mekong River. Muddy just like the cafe au latte I had for breakfast.
6 Comments
  1. June 13, 2011 11:42 PM

    I’ve never visited New Orleans before, do you like the town? The last image does look like the Mekong river, and that steam boat has a resemblance to the Lao boat.

    I’m not a fan of raw oyster. I liked the cooked version better, it looks good.

    • salalao permalink*
      June 14, 2011 12:16 AM

      The first time I went was pre- Katrina I didn’t do much. This time around I had time to walk around and enjoy the scenery. It very tourist town, there is gambling if you like to gamble and it’s very hot and humid. If it wasn’t for business I’m not sure if I would paid to be their.
      The raw oyster is something you have to have an acquire taste for. I guess you don’t do raw sushi or sashimi?
      If the river was little wider- it would be the “western hemisphere mekong river”. I kept looking over the other side and I had this crazy thought. That our people swam across the river to escape communist and most of them survived that’s just a miracle.

    • June 16, 2011 2:02 AM

      I like well done in all my food. I do like oyster and muscles but I like them well done with hot ginger sauce. I don’t like to gamble but would love to visit that part of the country, I think each town/place has its own culture. It must be like a flashback looking at the river, takes us back to the past but not the olden days.

  2. June 15, 2011 10:38 AM

    I’ve always wanted to visit New Orleans, but never have an opportunity to do so yet. By the way, did you get a chance to visit Lao Town? I heard they even have street name after Vientiane.

  3. June 15, 2011 10:39 AM

    Oh I forgot to say…. Welcome back to the blog world 🙂

    • June 15, 2011 5:52 PM

      No way I didn’t know that I would have gone their in a heart beat I love to see it or better yet eat throught it.. My guess this would be the first city call “lao town in the U.S? or Fortword, TX have lao town? Wow I’m impressed.

Comments are closed.

