Skip to content

Reward or It Just Madness

December 13, 2009

I got this plant from a friend of a friend fifteen years ago. I didn’t think it would survive this long, since I had neglected to water it for weeks or even months. I don’t think I have ever fertilize it, I was ready to gave up on this plant,  then I have second thought I decided to give another year maybe. I gave it plenty of water.  Well, guess what ! two weeks ago this is what  I saw for the first time in fifteen years.Shock beyond shock, this plant decided to produce flowers when I’m was ready pitch in the dumpster. 

You’ll be the judge whether is worth the wait. I was alway wonder is desert plant since it can survive without water for so long.

In the mean time I am so obsessive with orchids.  I will do everything and anything to have this things flowers fertilized it, water it regularly, move it around the house to get the sunlight it needed, and even talk to the darn thing.   

This year it bloom alright, only one lonesome  stalk, usually it would bloom two or three stalks at one time.  I hope it last until new year.  

Behind the orchids is the plant that produce the star like flowers.  Most of the orchids plant are coming into bloom. Is it science or green thumb?  one wonders……..

6 Comments
  1. December 14, 2009 1:49 AM

    I’ve heard that the plant will produce the most beautiful flower one last time before it dies, sort of like leaving something for you to remember it by, but I hope your plant is not like that, it does have beautiful and strange looking flowers.

    I took a picture of my mom’s orchid, it bloomed for several months at a time and I’ll post it at my blog for you to see.

  2. December 14, 2009 11:11 AM

    I don’t have any kind of plant inside of my house at all. I need to find me an interior designer to help re-arrange some of my junk furniture. LOL

  3. salalao permalink*
    December 14, 2009 10:41 PM

    Nye,
    I would like to see that, orchids is so exotic plants and to me it reminded of Laos when I saw these plants grow in the forst up on the tree with no dirt just hanging there and produce the most beautiful colors and shape.

    Seeharhed,
    You are crazy, you have plants outside and gardens I trade you with a banana tree even it doesn’t bare fruits. Yeah my coffee table is a mess lot of books my favorites past time. 🙂

    • December 16, 2009 10:19 AM

      salalao – I’ll be more than happy to give you some of my banana tree. It will be spreading like crazy this coming spring. As of right now, it looks dead due to the unusual freezing temperature of last week.

      Your coffee table looks neat and clean comparing to mine. I’m ashamed to admitted to the fact, one of these days I’ll get it clean. 🙂 I only clean my place when I know someone is coming over. hahahhahahah

  4. December 24, 2009 5:03 PM

    salalao – Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  5. December 25, 2009 9:15 AM

    Hi salalao, I hope you have a good Christmas, and wishing you and your family a prosperous New Year. 🙂

Comments are closed.

