Skip to content

Giving Thanks On Thanksgiving To People Back Home (Laos)

November 26, 2009
 As we celebrate thanksgiving with family here in United States. I am thinking back to Laos witnessing and experiencing  how less they have but yet they seem contented. Over the years I have the opportunity to made many great friends during my visits. I gained so much in sights of the lao rich history and traditions.  My grand  mother for instinct; she is in her late 90’s.  She doesn’t remembered  her day-to-day activity, but she yet  remembers her younger days, as I sat with her I asked her many questions. When she was a child what kind of games does she plays and how did she meet my grand father and was it an arranged marriage?  Her story was very intriguing and very sad since she loss her husband at a very young age.  She told me she has a lot of “boun” since she out lived all of her best friends and have many children, grand children and great-grandchildren to enjoy. I just hope she has the opportunity to see my nephew, he is the first great-grandson born in the United States.  I hope my sister make a trip to Laos soon.  

"Pra Ya noo Noi" at Wat Lao, Washington D.C

Grand mother sitting having conversation with me.

Lum Vong before Basi, my second aunt on the right, grand mother with the white shirt, and bunch of my mom friends.

 

 

Relatives and friends made basi for us wishing us happiness, good health, prosperity, and a safe trip back home.

These are the children visiting the clinic while I was there. These children are my inspiration to work hard and keep going no matter how difficult it is.

Friends; I met during my many trips back to Laos. Four of the men own "MASK Gallery" in Vientiane. Marc Leguay House's used to lived and worked.

My mother is constantly in the kitchen, followed by my sisters, me I stay away from the kitchen as far as possible.  I have absolutely no skill in the kitchen.

Nam wun "Kao la Song" with palm seeds, melon, fresh coconut juice and cane syrup YUMMMM.......

The best part about  holidays are spending time with families and friends.  I made a trip back to my family as much as I can.

 I want to wish people whose visit my blog’s the best Thanksgiving.

12 Comments
  1. November 26, 2009 7:50 PM

    Looking back, we do have a lot to be thankful for, and Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours Salalao. 🙂

    • salalao permalink*
      November 26, 2009 10:53 PM

      Nye
      Yeah it’s bless to be here.
      Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family oh Max too! Tommorow is the Biggest shopping day, and I’m not even sure if I could make it this evening dinner made me feel like a slug can’t move yet.

  2. Victor permalink
    November 27, 2009 2:06 AM

    You guys are real lucky, mate! Culture is still strong and intact. Beautiful culture. Must pass down the tradition or over the years will slowly loose it. Esp when grandma is still around and get to share the story and culture to the younger generation. Something which I wish I have done before my grandparents passed away many years ago. It is the recent years that I started to value my heritage and doing a catch-up. So, guys don’t loose it. I know I am an outsider but that short 1 week trip to Laos was one of the best trip I ever had for a long time, even it was only Vientiane and most of the time in Luang Prabang. You have a beautiful culture that should preserve and not loose.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 27, 2009 12:59 PM

      Victor,
      Only recently I began to appreciated my tradition values and the heritage we lao people left behind. The younger generation have difficult time to fit in the society and are lost or been assimilated to total Western society culture and will never step backward to their parent’s heritage.
      It is never too late to start to learn and practice the tradition. We have a lot of lao people and Wat lao in Washington D.C I go there every chance I get to participate in many events throughout the year. I started to re-learn how to write, read and spoke again(not the market language). It will take time.
      Next time, if you have a chance to go back to Laos. I recommended Southern part of Laos. Your taste buds will be buzzing. The food down South is more spicier and the seasoning are much more intense. Unlike “Luang Prabang”, you will find the French artchiture is very well preserved throughtout the city, and the four thousands island “Si pan Dong” you take the boat and visit all the islands walk along the villages and stay in one of the stilt house, the woods are beautiful carved and painted. You would not see this anywhere except in si pan dong island. You get up very early in the morning to watch the fresh water dolphin “Irrawaddy” and listen to the local guide recited the stories that was pass down from generations to generations similar to Romeo and Juliet story.

    • November 27, 2009 9:54 PM

      Victor – As of right now our culture and values still so what strong. Due to the fact that most of laotians whom are in their late 30’s-40’s were born in Laos and still practices the tradition. I’m not so sure what will happen to the 1st born U.S./Laotian generation, some might not even know the land of their parents or grandparents. In our families, all my nieces and nephew speaks lao when they are at home. Once they all get little older I like to take them all back to visit Laos and meet some of their long lost cousins.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 28, 2009 2:25 PM

      Seeharhed- Well put it…….

  3. November 28, 2009 8:24 AM

    Hi! My name is Jeffrey and I came here via Seeharhed’s blog. I also blog about Laos and my wife Aon, and two sons Jeremy Aaron and Bia live in Laos.

    I invite you to check out my blog when you have time and I would also like to wish you and yours a belated Happy Thanksgiving.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 28, 2009 2:27 PM

      Thank you for visit my blog’s. If you don’t mind asking. What do you do in Laos?

  4. December 1, 2009 1:01 AM

    Actually, I live and work in South Korea. I teach English at the university level (I have been teaching English since 1988) and I also write. I am originally from a small town in Illinois near Chicago.

    • salalao permalink*
      December 1, 2009 1:42 AM

      Jeffrey
      Bless your heart!! With your dedication, I’m sure your students have appreciated the time you tech English as their second languages and live far from your home. Are you ever home sick?

    • December 3, 2009 12:38 PM

      Jeffrey – Did you know that Illinois have a large numbers of Laotians residing there? The two cities that I know of are Elgin and Rockford.

Comments are closed.

