Skip to content

You All Have Seen Banana Right, But Have You Ever See This Banana?

November 22, 2009

I took my dad to visit his long-lost best friend after some forty years at  Ban Tha Haat, close to Vang Veing.  I can’t sit still  long before I ventured my way around the  village.  Looking  the views at  “nam somethng” I don’t remember the name, anywayI am trying to find somewhere cool to reliefs from the heat.

My dad’s the one with the red shirt, he wouldn’t leave home without it.

First of all, most important things a girl has to do after a long trip, doing  her personal business.  Right out in the open just behind the kitchen, lao style bathroom great!! not much privacy.

I leaved the ladies to the cooking, hopefully something good,  as I was walking up to the house I saw the daughter killed couple of the chickens.  They are little the size of my fist I probably could eat the whole chicken all by myself.  Ok, I was good since I was  a guest’s.

The back yard overlooked this small lake.  A small village off the main road one never thought there are people living this far up hill,  what a beautiful scenery.

Pretty nice view I see some people are bring some merchants back from the market. I assumed they will end up in the small market where we stopped by before we came up. 

Some of the kids are jumping into the water to cool off.  I don’t blame them it’s hot as hell.  I sat there for a while watching the kids playing just like an originally kids. Oh well…..I wish I could join them.

This place is quiet and it seems like no body is around.  I asks an elder lady “where is every body”, she told me “they’re all out and about harvesting rice up the mountain, getting fire woods, planting vegetables”  and I saw some are bringing the catches home for sale (my guess).  I see a lot of fresh fishes in the market they must be all from the local.

I sat underneath the bamboo bushes overlook the lake staying out of the sun, the cool breeze is just perfect enough to keep the bugs away and if  I have a mat with me I would have laid down and take a short nap before lunch, lunch is going be  little while.  It took us almost three hours drive from Vientiane.  The road doesn’t help neither it is all up hill, bumpy, curve back and forth. I am sitting here thinking about a trip back to the capital, it is going be another hell of a ride.

I hope lunch is ready. I bought “som pa” at the market. I asked my mom to fried it with some fresh hot peppers, garlic and green onions have it with some hot sticky rice yummy……………..

As I was walking back to the house, I came upon this unusual tree I have to look twice.  The owner of the house yell back at me it called “koi Loi Vi” so it’s a banana tree !! “is it edible?” I ask.  She yell back “yes”, but they are not ready yet”  the size of the banana is small as my  pinky finger. It’s really cute, I ask “Ba, wun bor?” She said “som som,wun wun”  my first tiny bananas and I can’t even have some how lame, even it’s ready it won’t curve my appetites.  Anyway  “som pa” was delicious.  Next time ……yes!  little banana it is.

6 Comments
  1. November 23, 2009 12:52 AM

    Salalao, Koi Loi Vi, I wonder if it has 100 bananas like the name suggested. I clicked at the photo to enlarge, and OMG so many bananas and I’ve never seen anything like this before.

    Nice post btw, love your story. 🙂

    • salalao permalink*
      November 23, 2009 1:24 AM

      Nye, it is so strange I have to look twice, it is funny because after that my aunts and my mother came down to see it and one of my aunt touch the banana and I told her don’t touch the banana it’s not yours and they thought it was funny Hehe I thought so too.. 🙂

  2. November 23, 2009 10:58 AM

    Yes, I’ve seen this type of banana before and it was also back in Laos. I don’t know if people actually eats it or not, it is too small to eat for me. On all my previous trips to Laos, I didn’t take as many pictures as I should. But, in the future trip I’ll be taking lots of picture for sure.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 23, 2009 6:11 PM

      Seeharhed,
      It is edible according to the ower-If you plan to cut up and put into your cereal not a good idea since it not that sweet, it is “som-wun”.
      Yeah next time takes lots of picture, Laos is changing rapidly I like to capture the moment.

  3. November 26, 2009 9:38 PM

    Hi Salalao – Actually I’ve seen this back in Laos and ate it too. Very sweet. I like it better than the chiquita banana we have over here. Many things I have seen I thought it was just a common things and never bother to take pictures. I wish I had taken more pictures when I was in Laos this past Spring.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 26, 2009 11:09 PM

      Dallas
      You are lucky to have a chance to have some. Just wait next time I will have my share. Little banana who would have thought? in Laos wow:)

Comments are closed.

