Skip to content

Bus Stop in Laos?

November 17, 2009

This is crazy !!!

 This picture reminded me one of the scene in the movie “Sabaidee Luang Prabang”.

A few years back there were no such thing, people use the toto as a public transportation.  I uses this too as part of my transportation  make me feel like I am part of the tourist.  Some lao people now are driving around with Lexus, Mercedes benze, BMW and some of the higher end SUV.  I thought my Toyota Yaris was special, oh well. Mind just continuing riding the toto at least I don’t have camcorder or camera out,  if  you see those gadgets out and about you know for sure  they are the virgin tourist.

15 Comments
  1. November 18, 2009 5:11 AM

    I read in Vientaine Times a year ago that Laos Government is trying to get rid of all touk touk/jumbo. In order for them to follow through with the plan, they have to provide people with more reliable transportation such as public buses. Tell you the truth, I still prefer taking the touk touk/jumbo to places. Also an opportunity to have one on one conversation with the driver and price bargain. hahahah

    • November 18, 2009 10:11 AM

      Seeharhed,
      Yeah it’s fun to bargain but when I find out how far the place was actully was. I end up giving the original price or even more. I don’t know my softy side come out alot. I just like to give them a hard time. I don’t drive that much in Laos the driving is crazy, the only time I take my Yaris out is a long distance to trip.

    • November 19, 2009 6:37 AM

      salalao,
      I didn’t realize you live in Laos. Been living there long?? Yes, the Toyota Yaris is a perfect car for Laos, it is compact and save gas.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 19, 2009 4:58 PM

      Seeharhed
      No, I lived in the U.S I visit Laos(my motherland)very often at least 3x a year. I have house and car over there for convience. I hate living in hotel and don’t like to stay with relatives, especially longer than two weeks. I can come and go as I pleased.
      They ‘re(my mother relative- aunts, uncle and cousins lot of them) come and stay with my parents. You know when you provided GOOD lao foods, and drinks(lao beer)cases and cases Jonhny Walker (blue label)none stop who wouldn’t like that. I let my parents do what they please since I don’t stay in Vietaine too long. I travel alot up North to the hill tribe trekking for weeks with a few guides and then a quick visit to a friend place in Luang Prabang who own a guesthouse “Sala Prabang”. Then I fly back to Vietiane for couple days,after that I usually heading South to Si pun dong, Champasak, Paksan, and Hinboun. By that time my mom relatives have got enough money from mom and they decide to head back to where ever they came from. I head back to Vietaine and spent quiet time with my friends and then is time to head back to the States.
      Next time when you’re plan to be in Laos let me know.
      I’m heading back in two weeks just perfect timing for the asian game. I’m not a big soccer fan but all my cousins are so, I promised them I would get them tickets for the matches and spend sometime with them haha will see.

    • November 19, 2009 6:09 PM

      I see, at first I thought you live somewhere in Vientaine. Wow, must be nice to be able to travel back as often as you do. It is been few years since my last trip back to Laos and I’m due for one very soon. I don’t have any house or car back in Laos, therefore I stay with my relatives half of the time. Most of my relatives are poor and I just wish that I can fix their problems. I tried, I love spending time with them. The rest of the time I travel alone or with lao friends and most of the time I ending up at some Guest House.

      I like to go back and see the SEA Games in coming month. I’m broke:-)!! May sometime next year after I get my tax refunds. LOL

    • salalao permalink*
      November 19, 2009 6:19 PM

      seeharhed,
      I’m in medical field. I go back to Laos more often because I can provide basic medical care to small villige two hours drive from vietiane where my mother grew up and my grandmother is still living there. I’m not rich or anything I’m just pouring all my heart and soul to the place I left long time ago and would like to give something back.

    • November 19, 2009 7:05 PM

      Seeharhed – A compact car like the Yaris will have a hard time down South. Most of my relatives live in Pakse but they go back and fort to Saravane. The only way to go to their village is a Jeep or SUV. If I live in Lao a Jeep would be my preferred ride.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 19, 2009 7:28 PM

      Dallas
      You are right about my little yaris, I only use it in the city. when I do the long distance trip. I usually travel by SUV or minibus from tourist comapny.

  2. November 19, 2009 3:20 PM

    I rode one of the buses from Ponethong to Pakse one afternoon, they were testing it last year in that area. It was real quiet and nice in comparison to the songtail that I rode to Ponethong that morning. My hair looked like bird’s nest when I got there.

    What I thought was real neat was that every bus stop in Laos that I saw has the Sala for people to rest, also shelter from the rain.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 19, 2009 4:57 PM

      Nye
      The best experienced in Laos riding the songtail. I hihgly recommened for the new visitor to Laos just do it once. We took the songtail from Vietiane to Ban Done (this was before I have a car) by the time we got there our clothes were brown from the dusty road. My sister got sick from the bus stopping and going alot I got her on video love to show it but then she would kill me.

  3. pnly permalink
    November 19, 2009 5:23 PM

    buses already? wow, it have been a long times now. i do miss laos a lot, but my parents don’t let me go back for a visit because they said it will be tooooooo dangerous. weird! i do miss riding those toto 😀

    • salalao permalink*
      November 19, 2009 6:02 PM

      Welcome pnly
      Then you must be one of lao new comer who hang out of the touk touk with the camcorder and camera on hands. I see that alot, reminded me ten years ago when I first visit Laos.
      Laos is not a danger place, you just need to play safe as long as you don’t talk politic you should be ok.

  4. November 19, 2009 7:00 PM

    Salalao – I remember my mother talking about taking me on the bus to see my father who work at the American Embassy near That Dam that was around 1978. Most Americans have already left at that time but few still remain. I was young but I vaguely remember waiting at a bus stop with her. We live just few mile south of Talat Sao on Tha Deau road. The weird part is I don’t remember the Tuk Tuk/Jumbo.

    • salalao permalink*
      November 19, 2009 7:29 PM

      Yeah I don’t think they had the touk touk then I don’t remember, that was thirty years ago.

  5. pnly permalink
    November 20, 2009 4:41 PM

    lol, i saw that too when i was still in lao 😀
    yeah, that is true and that is what i told my parents but they still won’t let me.

Comments are closed.

